top of page



The Governing Board of the Endowment Fund has 10-12 members; eight of whom are elected by the Council of Bishops and two of whom are senior staff, each of the two named by their General Board. Of the members, three are from Africa, one from Asia, one from Europe, three from the U.S., one senior staff from the General Board of Higher Education and Ministry, and one senior staff from the General Board of Global Ministries. Furthermore, within the eight members elected by the Council of Bishops, there shall be: three Bishops, two theological educators and three persons with endowment expertise. The Governing Board may add up to two additional members for expertise in certain areas of endowment management to serve as full members of the governing board with specific term limits.


The Board is accountable and will report annually to the Council of Bishops regarding its activities and its performance in accomplishing its mission and shall be amenable to the General Council on Finance and Administration in the conduct of the financial and administrative responsibilities.

Board members include:

Neil Alexander

President/Publisher, Emeritus

The United Methodist Publishing House


Bishop David Bard


Greg Bergquist

General Secretary

General Board of Higher Education and Ministry

Dale Jones

Managing Director, Church Relations


Frido Kingolenge

General Board of Global Ministries

Christopher Neyor

Monrovia, Liberia

Bishop Kasap Owan

South Congo Episcopal Area

Minnis Ridenour

Executive Vice President and COO Emeritus, Virginia Tech

Bishop Patrick P. Streiff

Central and Southern Europe Area

Judge Benjamin Turgano

Quezon City, Philippines


Read Board Chair Bishop Streiff's testimony about why the Endowment Fund is important and why he got involved.



To ensure success of the fundraising effort, an international committee is being developed. This committee will be modeled after the successful Central Conference Pension Initiative Campaign General Committee, which successfully raised more than $30,000,000 to provide pensions for Central Conference clergy. The committee structure includes a bishop (active or retired), pastor and individual from each of the five U.S. jurisdictions as well as Europe, Africa and the Philippines. Other Church leaders will also be included.


Campaign committee members include:

Bishop David Bard


Rev. Bob Burkhart


Bishop Ciriaco Quintanay Francisco

The Philippines


David Johnston

Western North Carolina

Christopher Neyor


Reiner R. Puno

The Philippines

Rev. Morais Quissico

New York

Minnis Ridenour


Rev. Joao Filimone Sambo


Bishop Patrick Streiff

Central and Southern Europe

Bishop Mary Ann Swenson


Alfiado S. Zunguza

General Board of Global Ministries

bottom of page